5-17-2014 LaSalle Speedway, IL Lucas Late Models - Spring Classic

5-17-2014 LaSalle Speedway, IL Lucas Late Models - Spring Classic
    Code: 5172014LaS
    Price: $10.00
    Quantity in Basket: None

    BR>LaSalle Speedway

    LaSalle, IL


    Spring Shootout

    LUCAS Late Models

    By: Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series

    La Salle, IL (May 17, 2014) – The 3-time and defending Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series National Champion, Jimmy Owens scored his first series win of the season on Saturday Night at LaSalle Speedway.  Owens survived a classic side-by-side battle with Jared Landers after over taking Scott Bloomquist for second. Owens then tracked down race leader Landers and forged ahead for good on lap 37.  Owens then pulled away to a comfortable lead to take the Spring Shootout victory. Trailing Owens and Landers to the finish line were, Scott Bloomquist, Earl Pearson Jr., and Don O’Neal

    “I can’t say enough about this car. The last few races, we’ve been solid, and tonight we were finally able to get to victory lane.  I want to thank the track crew, it’s good to see a track promoter take the time and rework the track.  With all the rain they had this week, they smoothed it out and you could run anywhere on it,” said Owens, who became the 12th different winner in 15 event races this year.

    “Landers was tough tonight. He drove a very good race, and we ran side-by-side there for several laps.  I hope it was a good show for the fans tonight.  We got off to a rough start in the feature, but we were able to settle down.  Scott [Bloomquist] and I had a really good battle for second.  He’d get by me, then the next lap I’d get him back.  It was just a great night for our Mike Reece team and all of our sponsors. We feel like we are hitting our stride now,” said the winner afterwards.

    Owens has now recorded a win and 2-runnerup finishes in his last three starts.  “I want to thank Reece Monument Company, Edge Services, Sunoco, Ford, Keyser, Ohlins, Midwest Sheet Metal, my crew chief, Chris Fox, and all the team for giving me a great car tonight.”

    Landers held the point for most of the race, but when Owens slipped by him with 13 laps to go he knew he had to concentrate on hanging on for the second position.  “That’s the best car we have had for quite some time and the crew did a great job on the car.  I was doing my job, we got into a lapped car, and that kind of hurt us a little bit.  We were able to recover and I thought tonight may be the night we could do it,” said the former series rookie-of-the year.  “Anytime Jimmy gets by you, it’s going to be extremely difficult to get back around him.   Then I had to worry about Scott.  Fortunately we held him off to get second,” said the driver of the Mark Martin Automotive, Crop Production Services, Rocket Chassis Chevrolet.

    Bloomquist came home third as he was in the thick of things all 50-laps.  “We were really good tonight, but just off a tick.  We had a good race with Jimmy there for a long time.  We went back-and-forth for second several times.  We gave each other plenty of racing room.  The track slicked off like we thought it would.  We really like coming up here to race.  Once they redid the track it was racy from top to bottom.  I have to thank Ole Smoky Moonshine, Penske Shocks, Andy Durham, and everybody else associated with our race team.  We have a really strong year going in this Sweet-Bloomquist car.”

    Completing the top ten were last year’s Spring Shootout winner, Brady Smith, John Blankenship, Eddie Carrier Jr., Dennis Erb, Jr., and Kevin Weaver.

    In preliminary action, Eddie Carrier Jr. set the overall Miller Welders Fast Time (Group A) amongst the 37 entrants, with a lap of 12.404 seconds.  Scott Bloomquist set the fastest time in Group B with a time of 12.712 seconds. Jared Landers, Jimmy Owens, Scott Bloomquist, and Jason Feger won their respective heat races. Bobby Pierce and Tony Toste won their respective B-Mains.

    Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series

    Race Summary

    Saturday Night, May 17th, 2014

    Spring Shootout

    LaSalle Speedway – La Salle, IL

    Miller Welders Fast Time Group A: Eddie Carrier Jr. / 12.404 seconds

    Miller Welders Fast Time Group B: Scott Bloomquist / 12.712 seconds

    Fast Shafts Heat Race #1 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Jared Landers, Eddie Carrier, Jr., Brady Smith, Dennis Erb Jr., Bobby Pierce, Kevin Weaver, Randy Korte, Mark Larson, Dennis Vandermeersch, Jeff Riddle

    Eibach Springs Heat Race #2 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Jimmy Owens, Earl Pearson, Jr., Shannon Babb, Brandon Sheppard, Rich Bell, Ryan Dauber, Guy Volk, Steve Pastva, Ray Guss, Jr.

    Simpson Performance Products Heat Race #3 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Scott Bloomquist, Don O’Neal, John Blankenship, Brian Birkhofer, Scott Schmitt, Jason Papich, Billy Drake, Ryan Unzicker, Mike Fryer

    FK Rod Ends Heat Race #4 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Jason Feger, Chris Simpson, Brian Shirley, Steve Francis, Tony Toste, Jason Hughes, Steve Dimmick, Jason Riggs, Bob Pohlman

    JRi Shocks B-Main #1 (12 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Bobby Pierce, Kevin Weaver, Randy Korte, Rich Bell, Ryan Dauber, Ray Guss, Jr., Mark Larson, Dennis Vandermeersch, Guy Volk, Jeff Riddle, Steve Pastva

    CV Products B-Main #2 (12 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Tony Toste, Scott Schmitt, Jason Hughes, Jason Papich, Billy Drake, Jason Riggs, Ryan Unzicker, Mike Fryer, Steve Dimmick, Bob Pohlman

    Race Statistics

    Entrants: 37

    Lap Leaders: Jared Landers (Laps 1 – 40); Jimmy Owens (Laps 42 – 50)

    Caution Flags: Jason Feger (Lap 1); Jason Papich (Lap 14); Brian Shirley (Lap 27); Brian Shirley (Lap 33)

    Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Provisional: Jason Papich

    Miller Welders Fast Time Provisional: Guy Volt

    Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Emergency Provisionals: None

    Wrisco Feature Winner: Jimmy Owens

    Optima Batteries Hard Charger of the Race: Kevin Weaver (Started: 19th; Finished: 10th; Advanced 9 Positions)


    1 3 20 Jimmy Owens Newport, TN

    2 1 777 Jared Landers Batesville, AR

    3 2 0 Scott Bloomquist Mooresburg, TN

    4 7 44 Earl Pearson, Jr. Jacksonville, FL

    5 6 5 Don O’Neal Martinsville, IN

    6 9 2 Brady Smith Solon Springs, WI

    7 10 23 John Blankenship Williamson, WV

    8 5 28 Eddie Carrier, Jr. Salt Rock, WV

    9 13 28e Dennis Erb, Jr. Carpentersville, IL

    10 19 B12 Kevin Weaver Gibson City, IL

    11 17 32 Bobby Pierce Oakwood, IL

    12 21 00 Randy Korte Highland, IL

    13 16 15 Steve Francis Ashland, KY

    14 15 B5 Brandon Sheppard New Berlin, IL

    15 23 91p Jason Papich Nipomo, CA

    16 18 91T Tony Toste Arroyo Grande, CA

    17 11 18 Shannon Babb Mowequa, IL

    18 8 32x Chris Simpson Oxford, IA

    19 22 12 Jason Hughes Watts, OK

    20 14 15b Brian Birkhofer Muscatine, IA

    21 20 10 Scott Schmitt Tonica, IL

    22 24 v77 Guy Volk Valparaiso, IN

    23 12 81 Brian Shirley Chatham, IL

    24 4 25F Jason Feger Bloomington, IL