4-12-2014 VA Motor Speedway - NDRL - King of the Commonwealth

4-12-2014 VA Motor Speedway - NDRL - King of the Commonwealth
    Code: 4122014VAMA
    Price: $10.00
    Quantity in Basket: None

    Virginia Motor Speedway

    Jamaica, VA

    NDRL Dirt Racing Series

    Jonathan Davenport Crowned King of the Commonwealth at Virginia Motor Speedway

    Jamaica, Virginia (12 April 2014) The Aaron’s King of the Commonwealth was on Jonathan Davenport and Kevin Rumley’s list of high priority events. Not that every event isn’t important, but the King of the Commonwealth is a victory that both driver and his race team highly coveted. Both have been very successful at Bill Sawyer’s beautiful Virginia Motor Speedway over the years. On Saturday they both added another big check mark to their to-do list when Davenport overtook early leader Billy Moyer, Jr. on lap 17 and held off a hard charging Scott Bloomquist in the late stages of the 60-lapper to claim the $20,000 winner’s check. The win also propelled Davenport into a tie with Chris Madden for the National Dirt Racing League point lead.

    Davenport was fastest in Group A of Keyser Manufacturing Time Trials lowering the Virginia Motor Speedway track record with his lap of 16.745 seconds around the ½ mile oval. However it was Hall of Famer Scott Bloomquist in Group B who picked up the Bell Helmets Fast Time Award when he obliterated the record Davenport had just set. Bloomquist tripped the clock at a mind boggling 16.509 seconds. Earl Pearson, Jr., Chris Madden and Don O’Neal rounded out the top 5 qualifiers.

    Heat Race action was insane with wins in the 10 lappers going to Davenport, Billy Moyer, Gregg Satterlee and Billy Moyer, Jr. Finishing second in heats and going to the redraw were O’Neal, Madden Bloomquist and Dennis Erb, Jr. A pair of Delaware drivers - Kenny Pettyjohn and Austin Hubbard scored wins in their respective B-Mains and making the feature event. Series provisional starts went to Kent Robinson, John Blankenship and Mason Zeigler.

    At the outset of the event it was pole sitter Billy Moyer, Jr. that took command while Davenport sliced through the middle of a 3-wide melee in turn one to move to second. With the remainder of the field locked in a double formation to complete lap one. Moyer moved away as Davenport had to fend of challenges from Billy Moyer and Gregg Satterlee.

    Madden and Bloomquist were battling door to door while up front Davenport began to reel in Moyer, Jr. as they both began to encounter backmarker traffic. By lap 15 Davenport was all over Moyer, first stepping outside but finally making the move around the hub. Bloomquist slipped by Madden and set after Moyer, Sr. as they both drew to Moyer, Jr.’s rear deck. Over the next several laps the Moyers raced wheel to wheel with the elder finally covering the spot. The pass also allowed Bloomquist to close in on Moyer, Jr. and take another spot away one lap later.

    After the halfway mark Davenport was in heavy traffic and Moyer, Sr. was able to close down on his fellow Longhorn Chassis driver. Moyer began to put some pressure on Davenport, nosing alongside the leader on multiple occasions. But the race for the lead was quelled when the event’s lone yellow flag waved for a stalled Bub McCool.

    For the restart Moyer opted for the inside which moved Bloomquist to the outside. When Davenport brought the field back to green Bloomquist made his move for second. Sweeping around the outside of turn 2 Bloomquist took over second and set after the leader. With only 10 laps remaining Bloomquist pulled to Davenport’s rear deck. Bloomquist threw all he had at Davenport but a slick move past a lapped car coming to the white flag sealed the deal. The move gave Davenport just enough open space to grab the checkers and the $20,000 check.

    Davenport’s Longhorn Chassis is sponsored by AES Racing

    Official Finish

    1 – 6 Jonathan Davneport

    2 – 0 Scott Bloomquist

    3 – 21 Billy Moyer

    4 – 5 Don O’Neal

    5 – 22 Gregg Saterlee

    6 – 21JR Billy Moyer, Jr.

    7 – 44 Chris Madden

    8 – 15 Steve Francis

    9 – 28 Dennis Erb, Jr.

    10 – 72 Jason Covert

    11 – 19 Tim Fuller

    12 – 6 Jamie Lathroum

    13 – 7R Kent Robinson

    14 – 23 John Blankenship

    15 – 11 Austin Hubbard

    16 – 15B Brian Birkhofer

    17 – 38 Kenny Pettyjohn

    18 – 1J Davey Johnson

    19 – 22 Chris Ferguson

    20 – 111 Max Blair

    21 – 25z Mason Zeigler

    22 – 44 Earl Pearson, Jr.

    23 – 57J Bub McCool

    24 – 91 JT Spence

    25 – 19 William Thomas